DGN wins Minooka Invite

Sunday, September 18 2016

Chalk up another invite victory for the Downers Grove North boys cross country team.
The Trojans easily won the varsity title with just 11 points combined from the seven flight races of the Minooka Invitational Saturday, Sept. 17.
Sophomore Matt Moravec and juniors Ryan Birkmeier, Nick Chudzik and Sam McCool swept the titles of the four flight titles as Downers North finished comfortably ahead of Whitney Young (25) and Minooka (27).
Senior Alec Danner was third in the No. 1 flight (15:18) with the third fastest time of the entire invite by eight seconds. Danner finished behind Minooka senior Soren Knudsen (15:08) and Maine South’s Reese Jordan (15:13).
Junior Jacob Ridderhoff was second in the No. 2 flight (15:37), one second behind Whitney Young’s Keduse Worku, with the sixth fastest overall time.
Senior Andrew Marek was second in the No. 3 flight (15:59), seven seconds from first, as the last of 12 runners to break 16:00.
Flight champions in competition order were Moravec (16:06 at No. 4), Chudzik (16:02 at No. 5), Birkmeier (16:11 at No. 6) and McCool (16:06 at No. 7). They won by 5, 14, 18 and 21 seconds, respectively.
All seven runners earned medals for top-10 finishes in the No. 1 flight or top-5 finishes in the other six. The four flight champions also received special invitational championship T-shirts. 
The frosh-soph and open teams also earned top-two plaques.
The frosh-soph was second (64 points) to Batavia (50). The open team (16) won easily over second-place Minooka (60) with senior Zach Goliszewski the individual invite champion.
In the frosh-soph race, sophomore Jack Roberts was second (16:20) to Lyons Township sophomore Colin Costello (16:14). Freshman Brad Rosen (6th, 16:53), sophomore Michael Conkright (16th, 17:20), freshman Matt Shimenetto (19th, 17:28) and sophomore Trevor Murphy (21st, 17:33) also earned top-25 ribbons. Sophomore Will Fulton (50th, 18:09) and freshman Clark Kelly (62nd, 18:34) were the team’s No. 6-7 finishers. 
The Trojans swept the top four spots in the open race with Goliszewski (16:33), seniors Donny Knapp (16:43) and Drew Pyburn (16:49) and junior Brendan Lockerby (16:50) – and junior Tyler Mertes (16:55), senior Robert Falconer (16:56) and junior Jack Langan (17:05) were sixth through eighth. Juniors Miles Christensen (14th, 17:32) and Reilly Britt (18th, 17:37) also received top-25 ribbons. Goliszewski also received the special invitational T-shirt as the race champion. 


Complete race results are available at: http://www.mchs.net/iweb/kgummerson/MIXC_Flight/Home.html

Photos from Minooka